Crocus Nanoelectronics

Get Taxi

Crocus Nanoelectronics a resident of the Technopolis Moscow, is the world’s first manufacturer of magnetoresistive memory (MRAM) with design rules 90, 65 and 45 nanometers on 300mm wafers using Crocus Technology technology. Company engineers are now applying the final high-tech layers for creating MRAM memory chips.

In 2013, the company launched the first stage of production at the Technopolis, consisting of the application of the magnetic layers.

In the beginning of 2014, Crocus Nanoelectronics filled its first commercial order for wafer processing, distributed by Crocus Technology. Production is expected to increase this year. First phase capacity is up to 500 CMOS wafers a week. At the second phase of investment, capacity will be increased to 1000 wafers a week.

Contracts with IBM on technological cooperation and mutual licensing of patents, signed in October 2011, attest to the technological and market prospects of Crocus’ developments; agreements with Morpho and Gemalto, the world’s largest suppliers of solutions for smart cards, SIM cards, identification, detection and e-documents, indicate the joint development and commercialization of the world’s first smart card based on Crocus’ unique technology. And contracts with ARM include cross-licensing and the creation of microcontrollers based on ARM architecture and MLU technology, developed by Crocus Technology.

Crocus Technology products are used in fabricating id-cards, biometric passports, bank cards, SIM-cards and other smart-cards, routers and search systems.

Moreover, Crocus Technology’s areas of business in Russia are not limited to production. Crocus plans to invest up to 5 m USD in Russian research organizations that will be working to improve technology. The first research contract was signed with Kintech Laboratory, which has begun developing a programming platform for magnetoresistive memory cell modeling.

In April 2014 the company attracted 60 m USD in extra funding from its main investors.

The funds will be used to complete the construction of its own production facility, which is located in Moscow. The CNE plant will be the world’s first producer of magnetic memory, which will serially issue modern devices using Crocus Magnetic Logic UnitTM’s breakthrough magnetic technology based CMOS wafers with a diameter of 300mm. Furthermore, this is the first plant in Russia to use 300mm diameter wafers for the production of MRAM.

See also

Компания «Крокус Наноэлектроника», резидент технополиса «Москва»

Резидент технополиса «Москва» -  компания «Крокус Наноэлектроника» должна стать первым в мире производством магниторезистивной памяти (MRAM) с проектными нормами 90, 65 и 45 нанометров на пластинах диаметром 300 мм по технологии Crocus Technology. Сейчас инженеры компании наносят финальные высокотехнологичные слои для создания чипов памяти MRAM.

В 2013 году на территории Технополиса компания запустила первую стадию производства, заключающаяся в нанесении магнитных слоев.

В начале 2014 года «Крокус Наноэлектроника» выполнила первый коммерческий заказ на обработку пластин, размещенный Crocus Technology. В нынешнем году ожидается расширение производства. Мощность в рамках первой фазы составит до 500 КМОП-пластин в неделю. На второй фазе инвестиций его мощность будет увеличена до 1000 пластин в неделю.

О технологических и рыночных перспективах разработок Crocus свидетельствуют заключенные соглашения с компанией IBM о технологическом сотрудничестве и взаимном лицензировании патентов, подписанное в октябре 2011 года; с компаниями Morpho и Gemalto — крупнейшими мировыми поставщиками решений для смарт-карт, сим-карт, идентификации, обнаружения и электронной документации — о совместной разработке и коммерциализации первых в мире смарт-карт на основе уникальной технологии Crocus, а также с компанией ARM — о кросс-лицензировании и создании микроконтроллеров на основе архитектуры ARM и технологии MLU, разработанной Crocus Technology.

Продукция Crocus Technology используется при изготовлении  id-карт, биометрических паспортов, банковских карт, SIM-карт и другие смарт-карт, роутеров и поисковых систем.

Впрочем, деятельность Crocus Technology в России не ограничивается созданием производства. Над улучшением технологии будут работать российские исследовательские организации, в которые Crocus планирует инвестировать до 5 млн долларов. Первый исследовательский контракт заключен с компанией «Кинтех Лаб», которая начала разработку программной платформы для моделирования ячейки магниторезистивной памяти.

В апреле 2014 года компания привлекла со стороны своих основных инвесторов дополнительное финансирование в размере 60 млн долларов

Полученные средства будут использованы для завершения строительства собственного производства, расположенного в Москве. Завод КНЭ станет первым в мире производством магнитной памяти, которое будет серийно выпускать на базе КМОП-пластин диаметром 300мм современные устройства с использованием прорывной магнитной технологии Crocus Magnetic Logic UnitTM. Кроме того, это первый завод в России, использующий пластины диаметром 300 мм для выпуска MRAM.

Читайте также