Speech at the Plenary Meeting of the III Moscow Urban Forum

05 December 2013

Sergey Sobyanin: «Dear Guests and Colleagues, It is not the for first time we are holding the Urban Forum, and every year it attracts more and more professionals, urban planners, and those people who are interested in the development of their cities. I’d like to particularly welcome my colleagues – the representatives of the constituents of the Russian Federation, mayors of the cities, guests from the major metropolitan areas of the world that are here today and will help us to discuss the issues and trends of the development of cities of the world, as well as of our beloved city of Moscow.

The interest in the problems of urban development continues to grow, and I believe that such forums will be held in future years, gathering participants, interesting projects and the results of serious research. Popularization of the main idea of "the city, comfortable for the living of residents" has also reached the architectural environment and the politicians, responsible for the development of their cities. It would seem that the theory is very clear, but nevertheless, when we face the practice, we see that this is certainly not the case, and sometimes our cities become less and less attractive with their global growth and rapid development. We all have to understand that these trends, in fact, lead to cities dying. And we need growing and prosperous cities, and the prosperity of these cities should be primarily based on the prosperity of their inhabitants, and the residents of these cities should feel comfortable.

I should say that the subject of urban development is essential not only in Moscow, the city that has been developing rapidly over past few decades, and I believe, will continue to develop in the next few years, but it is essential around the world due to the fact that the urbanization process covers all continents of our planet. Today more than 50% of the world's population lives in cities, and this trend is growing every year.

I must say that today's topic, the main topic of this forum – the urban peripheries and their development – is most essential for our city too. The majority of Moscow residents live in so-called dormitory communities that have been formed throughout the history of the city. Nevertheless, I must say that those are not just dormitory communities, they are the places where people spend most of their lifetime, and we must do everything possible so that they feel comfortable in these areas.

In addition to the development of the urban periphery, we will discuss many relevant and interesting topics of urban development. I hope all of you will actively participate in these roundtables and workshops. And, outside workshops, I invite everyone to get acquainted with Moscow – with Moscow getting ready for Christmas, New Year, with Moscow decorating itself. So, I not only wish you to do a great job, but also to have a nice break. I wish you all the best!»

***

Surprisingly, when you listen to the representatives of London, or Sao Paulo, you have a feeling that they are talking about the city of Moscow, because the problems actually existing in the development of cities are probably the same everywhere. With no changes in the strategy, the development of the cities and metropolitan areas is obviously impossible, and all speakers agree.

The decisions on changes in the global urban planning policy have also been taken in Moscow. We are moving away from the centripetal development of the city to the polycentric development, and a number of specific and very serious decisions have been taken.

In particular, in recent years, we have cancelled the implementation of various types of urban planning projects with a total area of 25 million square metres. If all this had been built, it would be a huge city. We rejected these constructions, but retained the dynamics of the development and general investments in the city development, and redirected them to the development of industrial areas, undeveloped land, and to the periphery of the city in the first place, trying to make the periphery more comfortable for living, more complex in terms of both residence and places of employment. We believe this is one of the most important tasks of the city authorities, in order to, on the one hand, ensure the city development, and on the other hand, in order to make this development more appropriate and promising. Our colleagues talked about the need to ensure the connectivity of the peripheries, and we are dealing with it. We have created a large, one of the world's largest, transport programmes, I mean the construction of the metro, which at present does not reach one quarter of Moscow micro-districts, and after the implementation of the programme of metro construction, the number of such districts will be many times smaller.

We are building roads, including chord roads, to cut the distances of journeys through the city centre, as Yuri said. It is also very important that we build two large interchange circuits on the railway and the metro. Our colleagues from Tokyo have said that they have three interchange circuits – connection of railways and metro lines. In the next five to seven years, we will also have two interchange circuits in Moscow, which will provide the interconnectivity and reduce journey distances through the centre by underground lines and radial railway lines.

When we talk about the peripheral areas of Moscow, we always think about how to make these areas as developed, and as comfortable as the city centre. And if you have a look at the distribution of the budget of Moscow in terms of land redevelopment, it turns out that two-thirds of these funds are allocated to the peripheral areas. I must say that in terms of redevelopment they, perhaps, favorably compare with many of the central districts of the city of Moscow. The spaces are cramped in the city centre, and it is quite difficult to undertake such work there.

Only this year about 30 kilometres of pedestrian paths were built in the peripheral areas. Another programme is also planned for his year, because it is necessary to understand where the largest movement of people is and where there is the most demand for pedestrian zones and for redevelopment. We have identified that, in fact, the largest movement of people is at the hubs and metro stations, which is obvious. Currently, we are developing a vast programme, considering all pedestrian paths within a radius of 1.5 kilometres from each metro station, for pedestrians’ comfort and to simplify the access to the nearest transport hubs.

Of course, in this context and within these tasks not only the City Government, but also the local authorities play an enormous role. We consider their development to be one of our priorities. We have assigned our powers to local authorities, and already this year local authorities have allocated the funds (either under their control, or directly by them) of about 800 million U.S. dollars for this purpose. These funds are allocated particularly to the improvement of the local environment and redevelopment of the micro-districts. Of course, nevertheless, our colleagues have focused on the analysis of our urban environment on the boundaries of the Moscow Ring Road (MKAD); we still clearly understand that our cities are not limited by their administrative boundaries. We actually live in the real city, which is much larger than the MKAD boundaries. And I must say that in addition to 12 million residents of Moscow, there is the Moscow region around the city of Moscow, with a population of about 8 million people. And, of course, drafting the development plans, we shall definitely consider not only the city of Moscow, but the entire region with the population of over 20 million people.

That is why today we are implementing such programmes as the development of suburban railways, including the reconstruction of railways and construction of 200 kilometres of new suburban railways; the construction of the Central Ring Road, which will be launched next year; the construction of outbound highways in cooperation with our colleagues from the Ministry of Transport and regional authorities, which is also gathering pace.

In general, I want to thank our colleagues for their interesting reports. They are very interesting indeed for all cities of the world, but I believe, they are particularly valuable for Moscow. Thank you for the great number of interesting reports. Thank you for being here.

See also
Vladimir Efimov
16 August 2017
The city has created all the necessary conditions for investors to operate successfully
Vladimir Efimov
Minister of the Moscow City Government, the Head of Department of Economic Policy and Development of Moscow
Natalya Sergunina
02 November 2015
Natalya Sergunina on why Moscow does not fear the crisis and what the city’s government is betting on
Natalya Sergunina
Deputy Moscow Mayor in the Moscow Government of Economic Policy, Property and Land Relations
S.S. Sobyanin
24 September 2015
Sergei Sobyanin’s interview with Moscow FM radio station
S.S. Sobyanin
Mayor of Moscow
S.S. Sobyanin
07 August 2015
Interview with TV-Centre
S.S. Sobyanin
Mayor of Moscow
S.S. Sobyanin
24 March 2015
Moscow Mayor’s commentary for TV Centre television
S.S. Sobyanin
Mayor of Moscow
S.S. Sobyanin
15 February 2015
Sobyanin interviewed for Vesti-Moskva on Rossiya-1
S.S. Sobyanin
Mayor of Moscow
S.S. Sobyanin
10 February 2015
An interview to the TV Tsentr network
S.S. Sobyanin
Mayor of Moscow
S.S. Sobyanin
29 December 2014
Interview with Postscript, a TV-Centre show
S.S. Sobyanin
Mayor of Moscow

Выступление на пленарном заседании III Московского урбанистического форума

05 декабря 2013

С.Собянин: Добрый день, дорогие гости, коллеги! Мы уже не первый год проводим Урбанистический форум, и с каждым годом интерес к нему всё больше и больше привлекает специалистов, градостроителей, просто людей, неравнодушных к развитию своих мегаполисов. Я особо приветствую своих коллег — представителей субъектов Российской Федерации, мэров городов, гостей из крупных мегаполисов мира, которые находятся сегодня в этом зале и помогут нам обсудить проблемы и тенденции развития мегаполисов как мира, так и нашего любимого города Москвы.

Интерес к проблемам развития городов не ослабевает, и я уверен, что такие форумы будут проводиться и в последующие годы, набирая участников, интересные проекты и результаты такого рода серьёзных исследований. Популяризация основной идеи «Город, удобный для жизни граждан» также проникает в архитектурную среду и к тем политикам, которые отвечают за развитие своих городов. Казалось бы, тезис абсолютно понятный, но тем не менее, когда мы сталкиваемся с практикой, то видим, что это далеко не так и порой наши города становятся всё менее и менее привлекательны с учётом их глобального роста и быстрого развития. Всем нам необходимо понять, что такие тенденции, по сути дела, приводят к тому, что города начинают умирать. А нам нужны города развивающиеся и процветающие, и процветание этих городов должно быть в первую очередь основано на процветании их жителей, чтобы жители чувствовали в этих городах себя удобно.

Я должен сказать, что тема развития городов актуальна не только в Москве, городе, который бурно развивается последние десятилетия и, я думаю, будет развиваться и в ближайшие годы, но и во всём мире, в связи с тем что процесс урбанизации охватывает все континенты нашей планеты. Сегодня уже более 50% всего населения планеты находится в городах, и эта тенденция с каждым годом усиливается.

Я должен сказать, что сегодняшняя тема, главная тема нашего форума — это городские периферии и их развитие — чрезвычайно актуальна и для нашего города. Бóльшая часть москвичей проживает в так называемых спальных районах, которые сформировались за всю историю города. Тем не мене я должен сказать, что это не просто спальные районы, это то место, где люди проводят бóльшую часть своей жизни, и мы должны сделать всё, чтобы они чувствовали в этих районах себя комфортно.

Помимо развития городской периферии предстоит обсудить много насущных и интересных тем развития города. Я надеюсь, что вы все будете принимать в этих круглых столах, в этих семинарах самое активное участие. Ну и помимо рабочих встреч я всех приглашаю ознакомиться с Москвой — Москвой, которая готовится к Рождеству, к Новому году, украшает себя. Поэтому я желаю вам не только хорошей работы, но и хорошего отдыха. Всего вам доброго!

***

Удивительно, когда слушаешь представителей Лондона, Сан-Паулу. Такое ощущение, что рассказывают про город Москву, потому что проблемы на самом деле, которые существуют в развитии мегаполисов, они, наверное, везде одинаковы. Без изменения стратегии развитие городов, развитие мегаполисов, очевидно, невозможно, с этим соглашаются все выступающие здесь коллеги.

В Москве также были приняты решения по изменению глобальной градостроительной политики. Мы уходим от центростремительного развития города к полицентричному развитию и приняли целый ряд конкретных, очень серьёзных решений.

В частности, за последние годы мы прекратили реализацию различного рода градостроительных проектов общей мощностью на 25 млн кв. м. Если всё это построить, это огромный город. Мы отказались от этих строек, но при этом сохранили динамику развития и общие инвестиции в развитие города, перенаправили их на развитие промышленных зон, неосвоенных территорий, в первую очередь именно на периферию города, пытаясь сделать периферию более удобной для проживания, более комплексной с точки зрения и проживания, и мест приложения труда. Мы считаем это одной из самых главных задач городских властей, для того чтобы, с одной стороны, обеспечить развитие города, с другой, для того чтобы сделать это развитие более правильным и перспективным. Коллеги говорили о том, что необходимо обеспечить связанность периферии, и мы этим занимаемся. У нас создана большая, одна из крупнейших в мире транспортных программ, я имею в виду и строительство метрополитена, который сегодня не доходит до четверти московских микрорайонов, — после реализации этой программы строительства метрополитена таких районов будет кратно меньше.

Мы занимаемся строительством дорог, в том числе и хордового сообщения, таким образом, чтобы не было больших перепробегов через центр, о чём говорил Юрий. И очень важно то, что мы строим два больших пересадочных контура по железной дороге и метрополитену. Коллеги из Токио говорили о том, что у них три пересадочных контура — связи железных дорог и метрополитена. В Москве в ближайшие пять-семь лет тоже появится ещё два пересадочных контура, которые как раз обеспечат взаимосвязанность и уменьшат перепробеги через центр по линиям метрополитена и радиальным направлениям железной дороги.

Когда мы говорим о периферийных районах Москвы, мы всегда думаем о том, чтобы эти районы были не менее благоустроенными, не менее комфортными, чем центр города. И если посмотреть распределение бюджета города Москвы в плане благоустройства территорий, то окажется, что две трети этих средств направляется именно на периферийные районы. Я должен сказать, что в плане благоустройства они, пожалуй, даже более выгодно отличаются от многих центральных микрорайонов города Москвы. В центре зажатые пространства, и там такие работы производить достаточно сложно.

Только в этом году в периферийных районах создано около 30 км пешеходных дорог. В этом году мы намечаем ещё одну программу, потому что надо понять, где больше поток людей, где больше востребованность в пешеходных зонах, в благоустройстве. Мы определили, что на самом деле самый большой поток людей, и это очевидно, к транспортно-пересадочным узлам, к станциям метрополитена. Мы сегодня разрабатываем большую программу, где в радиусе 1,5 км от каждой станции метрополитена рассматриваем все пешеходные связки, все пешеходные дороги, для того чтобы человеку было удобнее и комфортнее добираться до ближайших транспортных узлов.

Конечно, в этой связи и в этих задачах громадную роль играют не только городские власти, но и местное самоуправление. Мы считаем, что его развитие является для нас одним из приоритетов. Мы изменили наши полномочия в сторону местного самоуправления, и уже в этом году органами местного самоуправления распределено средств — или под их контролем, или непосредственно ими самими — около 800 млн долларов. Это деньги, направленные как раз на обустройство местной среды, на обустройство микрорайонов. Конечно, хотя коллеги сосредоточились при анализе нашей городской среды на границах вокруг МКАД, тем не менее мы отлично понимаем, что наши города не ограничиваются административными границами. Мы живём на самом деле в реальном городе, который гораздо больше, чем граница МКАД. И должен сказать, что помимо 12 млн москвичей вокруг Москвы есть ещё Московский регион, в котором проживает около 8 млн человек. И мы, конечно, безусловно, в планах развития должны учитывать не только город Москву, но и весь регион, котором проживает более 20 млн человек.

Именно поэтому мы сегодня реализуем такие программы, как развитие пригородных железных дорог — это реконструкция и строительство новых 200 км пригородного сообщения, это строительство Центральной кольцевой автодороги, которое начнёт реализовываться уже в следующем году, это строительство вместе с нашими коллегами из Министерства транспорта и областными властями вылетных магистралей, которое также набирает темпы.

В целом я должен поблагодарить коллег за интересные сообщения. Они чрезвычайно интересны, конечно, для всех городов мира, но, я считаю, особо ценны для Москвы. Спасибо, было много интересных сообщений. Спасибо, что вы здесь.

Читайте также
В.В. Ефимов
22 февраля 2018
Владимир Ефимов раскрыл планы Москвы по «налогу на модернизацию»
В.В. Ефимов
Министр Правительства Москвы, руководитель Департамента экономической политики и развития города Москвы
В.В. Ефимов
15 февраля 2018
Министр Правительства Москвы, руководитель Департамента экономической политики и развития города Москвы рассказал о том, как Москва зарабатывает и эффективно расходует
В.В. Ефимов
Министр Правительства Москвы, руководитель Департамента экономической политики и развития города Москвы
Л.В. Кострома
28 января 2018
Мерами городской поддержки пользуются 76 предприятий
Л.В. Кострома
Директор Городского агентства управления инвестициями при Правительстве Москвы
Ликсутов Максим Станиславович
15 января 2018
М.С. Ликсутов: «Задачи любой ценой выписать штраф нет»
Ликсутов Максим Станиславович
Заместитель Мэра Москвы в Правительстве Москвы, Руководитель Департамента транспорта и развития дорожно-транспортной инфраструктуры города Москвы
М.Ш. Хуснуллин
30 декабря 2017
Марат Хуснуллин – о главных итогах и планах на 2018 год
М.Ш. Хуснуллин
Заместитель Мэра Москвы в Правительстве Москвы по вопросам градостроительной политики и строительства
Н.А. Сергунина
15 декабря 2017
Нам удалось создать комфортную среду для работы компаний любого масштаба
Н.А. Сергунина
Заместитель Мэра Москвы в Правительстве Москвы по вопросам экономической политики и имущественно-земельных отношений