Education

Moscow has traditionally had a high educational potential, being one of the oldest educational centers in Eastern Europe. Moscow schools are highly rated in Russia.

In 2017, 156 Moscow schools were included in the TOP-500 ranking of the best Russian schools, with 13 Moscow schools in the TOP-25 ranking.

Such results are based on the high professional level of Moscow teachers and the use of modern educational technologies.

Preschool and Gradeschool Education

589 multidisciplinary schools in Moscow are implementing general and extra education programs, including 566 schools with pre-school groups. An application for the child admission to a pre-school group or a school can be submitted through the official Moscow Mayor and Government website (www.mos.ru). Recently, private educational organizations have been actively developing. The full list of state and private educational organizations can be found at the Moscow portal of educational institutions.

The international baccalaureate system (International Baccalaureate, IB) is currently developing. IB diplomas are recognized in more than 1,800 universities around the world. 30 educational organizations subordinate to the Moscow Department of Education that participate in the project "Moscow: international quality schools" are creating conditions for developing the educational programs of the International Baccalaureate. Currently, Moscow has 30 authorized schools, 22 of which are state educational organizations, and 8 are private. The education process is carried out in one of the three languages: English, French or Spanish (Russian is allowed for teaching Russian language and literature). More information on the international baccalaureate system can be found at the program website (in English). There you can find the accredited schools list.

You can find more detailed information about the Moscow education system opportunities and results at the City School website.

Higher and Postgraduate Education

Moscow is one of the leading science and education centers of the world. It boasts the best universities in the country offering profound theoretical and practical training. Many of the Moscow universities have a high international rating. Lomonosov State University is ranked the top Russian university in international ratings (79th in the Shanghai ARWU rating, 226 – 250 in the Times THE rating). According to the THE rating, the list of top science universities includes three universities in Moscow: MSU (63rd), the Moscow Physics and Technology Institute (63rd) and the MIPI National Nuclear Research University (74th).

Business education has undergone extensive development in Moscow lately. Economics and finance universities are showing rapid growth and new business schools integrating world-class theory and practice are being established. In 2006, the Skolkovo Moscow School of Management, an initiative of both Russian and international business, was opened and now supplies qualified specialists who are willing and able to work per international business standards of conduct. The MBA program is actively being developed and includes trainings and work placement in Russian and international companies, while special modules in collaboration with the world’s leading business schools are being introduced.

Foreign nationals may obtain higher and further vocational education either on a paid basis, or free of charge provided that international education contracts or a quota system for educating foreign nationals apply.

You can find details on higher and postgraduate education programs on the websites of the major Moscow universities:

Lomonosov Moscow State University (MSU);

Higher School of Economics National Research University (HSE NRU);

Plekhanov Russian University of Economics (RUE);

Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA);

Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT);

National Research Nuclear University (MIPI);

Moscow State Institute of International Relations of the MFA of Russia (MGIMO);

Peoples’ Friendship University of Russia (PFUR).

Образование

Москва – город с традиционно высоким образовательным потенциалом, один из старейших образовательных центров Восточной Европы. Московские школы занимают высокие позиции в рейтинге школ России.

В 2017 году 156 московских школ вошли в ТОП-500 лучших российских школ, а 13 московских школ – в ТОП-25.

Эти результаты обеспечиваются благодаря высокому уровню профессиональной подготовки преподавательского состава московских школ, внедрению современных технологий в образовательный процесс.

Общее образование

В Москве насчитывается 589 многопрофильных школ, реализующих программы общего и дополнительного образования, в том числе 566 школ с дошкольными группами. Заявление о приеме ребенка в дошкольную группу или школу можно подать через официальный сайт Мэра и Правительства Москвы (www.mos.ru). В последнее время активно развиваются частные образовательные организации. С полным списком государственных и частных образовательных организаций можно ознакомиться на портале образовательных учреждений города Москвы.

Развивается система международного бакалавриата (International Baccalaureate, IB). Дипломы IB признаются более чем в 1 800 университетах мира. В рамках проекта «Москва: международные школы качества» 30 образовательных организаций, подведомственных Департаменту образования города Москвы, создают условия для развития образовательных программ Международного бакалавриата. В настоящее время в Москве 30 авторизированных школ, из них государственных образовательных организаций – 22, частных образовательных организаций – 8. Обучение ведется на одном из трех языков: английском, французском или испанском (допускается преподавание русского языка и литературы на русском языке). Подробнее о системе международного бакалавриата можно узнать на сайте программы (на английском языке). Там же можно ознакомиться со списком аккредитованных школ.

Более подробная информация о возможностях и результатах системы столичного образования представлена на сайте Школа большого города.

Высшее образование

Москва является одним из ведущих научных и образовательных центров мира. Здесь сконцентрированы ведущие вузы страны, предлагающие серьезную теоретическую и практическую подготовку. По информации Минобрнауки России, на территории города Москвы насчитывается около 90 государственных образовательных организаций высшего образования и 144 негосударственные образовательные учреждения высшего образования Российской Федерации. Многие из них занимают высокие позиции в международных рейтингах. Московский государственный университет имени М.В. Ломоносова вошел в топ-10 международного рейтинга –  QS World University Rankings за 2016 год среди вузов стран БРИКС (Бразилия, Россия, Индия, Китай и ЮАР). Количество выпускников московских вузов в 2015 году составило 134,9 тыс. человек.

В последнее время в Москве активно развивается бизнес-образование. Развиваются вузы, специализирующиеся на преподавании экономических и финансовых дисциплин, появляются бизнес-школы нового поколения, интегрирующие академические знания мирового класса и практический опыт. С 2006 года функционирует Московская школа управления Сколково, совместный проект российского и международного бизнеса, обеспечивающий выпуск специалистов, умеющих и готовых работать по международным стандартам ведения бизнеса. Развивается программа MBA, в образовательный процесс включаются тренинги и стажировки в российских и международных корпорациях, специальные модули в рамках партнерства с ведущими мировыми бизнес-школами.

Иностранные граждане могут получить высшее образование в Москве на платной основе или бесплатно в соответствии с международными договорами или квотой на образование иностранных граждан.

Подробнее с образовательными программами высшего образования можно ознакомиться на сайтах ведущих университетов Москвы:

Московский государственный университет имени М.В.Ломоносова (МГУ);

Научно-исследовательский университет – Высшая школа экономики (НИУ ВШЭ);

Российский экономический университет имени Г.В.Плеханова (РЭУ им. Г.В.Плеханова);

Российская академия народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Президенте РФ (РАНХиГС);

Московский физико-технический институт (МФТИ);

Национальный исследовательский ядерный университет «МИФИ»;

Московский государственный институт международных отношений МИД России (МГИМО);

Российский университет дружбы народов (РУДН).